Chewy Chocolate Chip Biscuits in the Bellini (BIKM)

Standard
Chewy Chocolate Chip Biscuits in the Bellini (BIKM)

A friend called in for a cuppa yesterday, and I searched and searched for a recipe to make some biscuits to nibble on.

Boy O boy are there some delicious looking biscuit and cookie recipes out there on the internet…

It took me all day to decide. 

After browsing this site all day, I settled on this one, and adapted it for the Bellini Intelli.

Mine look a little different… but they tasted soooo good. Luckily I sent a few home with my friend.. or I am pretty sure I would have scoffed the lot!

Ingredients

  • 160 gm butter, softened to room temperature
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup sugar (I used raw)
  • 1 large egg, at room temperature
  • 2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 cups plain flour
  • 2 teaspoon cornflour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup white chocolate chips

Method

  1. Pre-heat oven to 160 degrees (fan forced), 180 degrees if not fan forced. Line baking tray.
  2. Using blunt stirring attachment, combine butter and sugar in BIKM, speed 3, 1 min.
  3. Increase speed 4, 2 min, til light and creamy and a light brown colour.
  4. Scrape down sides as needed. Add egg and vanilla. Speed 4, 15 sec.
  5. Add all other ingredients (except choc chips). Mix speed 1, 35 sec. Increase to speed 2, 45 sec.
  6. Add chocolate chips, mix speed 1-2, 20 seconds.
  7. At this point I tipped mix into a bowl, gave the choc chips a good stir to combine thoroughly.
  8. Spoon round mixture onto lined baking tray.
  9. Cook for 8-10 minutes (no longer or they won’t stay soft).
  10. Cool on tray then remove to wire rack. Store in airtight container (if they last that long)

In the original recipe, the pictures show a flat biscuit. These ones stayed round and soft in the middle, which I liked.

I left my recipe as I made it, in which I used baking powder. I believe the original recipe uses bi-carb soda, but I liked my results so left it as is.

Leave a Reply

