You can Jar Christmas? Yes, I think you can!

Standard
You can Jar Christmas? Yes, I think you can!

Cookie mix in a jar

Well I thought I would make my first post one about something that has been consuming my train of thought of late…

And that is Christmas.

Not just the usual presents for the kiddies and little people in our life… but those presents you are almost obliged to give.

It’s not that I don’t love giving presents, but the ones that I do give, usually involve a lot of thought on my behalf.

I’m talking about people like our grandparents… or old Aunt Jude… or the sweet old lady down the road.

So I came across ( a not so original idea it seems, but one I haven’t seen before) of gifts in jars.

You can find the original recipe I used and tweaked here 

Last year, I did a M&M layered biscuit mix in a glass jar, in a pretty box with Christmassy mugs, flavoured coffee sachets, individual tea bags, and come small choccies scattered around.

I think it looked cute all wrapped up and decorated (I will scrounge to see if I took any photos of how they turned out, but you get the idea)

SO this year, I have been researching my gifts in jars theme. And with the help of my Bellini Intelli Kitchen Master (I plan on blogging more about the BIKM in future) I have made up a list of things I think might fit the memo.

How am I going so far… any mouth’s watering yet? Would YOU like to be the recipient if someone gave you these hand made gifts?

I’ve started a Pinterest board

2 responses »

  1. Ah, this is a classic American gift idea! You mix in the dry ingredients for cookies or something similar so all the other person has to do is add the wet ingredients and bake. You can be clever with the layers and jar decorating too! One year someone gave me a jar of hot chocolate mix (cocoa with the sugar and spices mixed into it) with “snowman poop” (marshmallows) in a jar painted like a snowman.

Leave a Reply

