Today’s experiment… Strawberry Jam in the Bellini (BIKM)

Standard

Ok. So no out of this world culinary creations today.

But we (as in my 3 year old and I) gave strawberry jam a go in the Bellini Intelli Kitchen Master.

Having never made a jam before, I was a bit worried I’d make a mess of it, but it was incredibly easy! Although I haven’t tasted yet and I guess that is where the true test will come.

I only had one punnet of strawberries in the fridge that were almost ready to get chucked so thought we’d use them up.

It went like this….

150gm strawberries

150gm sugar (I happened to have raw sugar so used that)

half a lemon, peeled, so just the fleshy bit

and the zest of that lemon (I don’t have a zester so just finely peeled it with a potato peeler)

Chucked it all in the cooker, 10-15 minutes, 100 degrees, speed 1.

Then another 5-10 minutes with the measuring lid off at 100 degrees, speed 1.

And that was it.

I had some left over glass jars that were in the oven heating up, poured the jam in, and popped on the cello covers… and that was it! We were done.

Now I think, with a bit of ‘prettying’ up, they will fit in nicely in my repertoire of Christmas gifts in Jars.

 

20121029-134243.jpg  20121029-134310.jpg  20121030-204852.jpgthe finished product… was very nice

Leave a Reply

